sonja-burger-farbstifte

Sonja Burger

Sonja Burger gathered a prime enthusiasm for medical illustration during her apprenticeship, and prior to her graduation from the Zurich School of Design, Rüdiger Verlag in Berlin and Prof. Dr. med. med. A. Puff from the University Hospital Freiburg i. Br. discovered her. Here, the foundation was laid for numerous series and studies of medical illustrations by Sonja Burger.

During her training at the School of Design Zurich, advertising agencies became aware of Sonja Burger's versatile, accurate and very efficient work through school visits, enabling her first assignments in advertising. Sonja Burger's versatility in ideas and styles has become even more encompassing as she practices on a daily basis, and she is still excited about new additions to her repertoire.

On the basis of Sonja Burger 's diploma thesis, whose theme was small mammals of the Ruggellerried, she created a name early among the zoo technicians, thereby receiving her first commission from the magazine Schweizer Woche (Swiss Week) for an illustration of settlement species such as: fox, mice, martens etc. Swiss Week was soon followed by orders from various newspapers, magazines and book publishers in equally diverse topics, and her creative work for the print media has since been repeatedly expanded with a theme.

The joy of the experience of making things appear in different perspectives with ease and efficiency, to create different worlds, to accurately document the existing, to visualize ideas and to draw what can not be photographed, is Sonja Burger's vocation.

Sonja Burger – Timeline

From 2010

Private lessons and intensive courses at primary and secondary school level.

2007-2009

Intensive courses and instruction for draftsmen in freehand drawing at the BBZ (Berufssbilungszentrum) Schaffhausen.

From 2001

Lecturer for painting and drawing courses at the CHAIR OF ARCHITECTURE at ETH Zurich. Lessons at various semester trips in Switzerland and Italy.

1997–2001

Head of painting and drawing courses in Switzerland, France and Italy.

From 1986

Self-employed illustrator and scientific drawer in constant cooperation with publishers, advertising agencies, companies, etc. Illustrations and drawings (in various fields, painting techniques and styles) for magazines, books, advertising, teaching material, etc. demonstrating illustrations of various painting materials at trade fairs and video productions

1988–1990

Part-time position as medical drawer / illustrator at the University Hospital Zurich, Department of Surgery.

1982–86

Professional class for scientific drawing and illustration SfG Zurich. Diploma thesis, Topic: "Zoology" Additional courses in the fields of lithography, photography, airbrush (spray gun technic)

1981–82

Hospitantin SfG Zurich

1979–81

Photoretoucher

1978–79

Preliminary course, School of Design Zurich (SfG)

xenotransplantation

Comments by Walter Hess

Comments by Walter Hess (†), formerly Chefred. Natürlich

Sonja Burger belongs to the elite of scientific drawers/illustrators in Switzerland, which I already noticed in the mid-1980s. At that time, I was faced with the task of illustratively illustrating magazine articles on human body parts, clinical pictures, and also ecological topics, whereby certain subtleties, characteristics of behavior, or biotopes could be clearly identified. It was about the visualization of the invisible, which could not be grasped with the means of photography, and not simply pictures for the graphic animation of magazine pages. An additional, exact visual information was required.

Most drawers and painters have freed themselves from the compulsion to be realistic after the advent of photography. Exactly the exact figure represents particularly high handicraft demands and is only little maintained. Sonja Burger succeeds in embedding the scientific presentations in an apt mood atmosphere, that is to say, linking the exact reproduction of details with an artful and sensitive design that evokes feelings in the on-looker. This combination of true-to-life information and creativity is a stroke of luck, because one aspect does not work at the expense of the other, but both support each other.

In addition to the technical qualities, the scientific illustrator also possesses organizational skills. It is productive, prompt and thus guarantees the fulfillment of your customer requirements. For design tasks of publications, she works together with clients from various industries. Meeting deadlines to the minute has been tried and tested for years in these demanding and mostly complex jobs.

sonja-burger-farbstifte

Sonja Burger

Schon in der Ausbildungszeit begann sich Sonja Burger für die medizinische Illustration zu interessieren, und sie wurde kurz vor Abschluss der Schule für Gestaltung Zürich vom Rüdiger Verlag in Berlin und Prof. Dr. med. A. Puff vom Universitätsklinikum Freiburg i. Br. entdeckt. Hier wurde der Grundstein für die zahlreichen Serien und Studien medizinischer Illustrationen Sonja Burgers gelegt.

Während der Ausbildung an der Schule für Gestaltung Zürich wurden die Werbeagenturen durch Schulbesuche auf Sonja Burgers vielseitiges, genaues und sehr effizientes Schaffen aufmerksam, und so erhielt sie ihre ersten Aufträge in der Werbung. Sonja Burgers Vielseitigkeit an Ideen und Stilen ist durch beinahe tägliches Üben noch umfassender geworden, und sie freut sich immer noch über Neuzugänge in ihrem Repertoire.

Auf Grund von Sonja Burgers Diplomarbeit, deren Thema die Kleinsäuger des Ruggellerrieds war, schuf sie sich früh einen Namen bei den Tierzeichnern und erhielt deshalb ihren ersten Auftrag von der Zeitschrift Schweizer Woche für eine Illustration von Siedlungsfolgern wie: Fuchs, Mäuse, Marder etc. Der Schweizer Woche folgten schnell Aufträge verschiedener Zeitungen, Zeitschriften und Buchverlagen für ebenso verschiedene Themen, und das kreative Schaffen für die Printmedien wird seither immer wieder um ein Thema erweitert.

Die Freude an der Erfahrung, mit Leichtigkeit und Effizienz Dinge in verschiedenen Perspektiven erscheinen zu lassen, andere Welten zu kreieren, Bestehendes genau zu dokumentieren, das Visualisieren von Ideen und das Zeichnen von dem, was sich nicht fotografieren lässt, ist Sonja Burgers Berufung.

Sonja Burger – Timeline

Seit 2010

Privatunterricht und Intensivkursstunden an der Primar- und Sekundarschule.

2007-2009

Intensivkurse und Unterricht der Hochbauzeichner im Freihandzeichnen an der BBZ (Berufsbilungszentrum) Schaffhausen.

Seit 2001

Dozentin für Mal- und Zeichenkurse am Lehrstuhl Architektur der ETH Zürich. Unterricht an diversen Semesterreisen in der Schweiz und Italien.

1997–2001

Leiterin für Mal- und Zeichenkurse in der Schweiz, Frankreich und Italien.

Seit 1986

selbstständigerwerbende Illustratorin und Wissenschaftliche Zeichnerin in ständiger Zusammenarbeit mit Verlagen, Werbeagenturen, Firmen usw.: Illustrationen und Zeichnungen (in verschiedensten Bereichen, Maltechniken und Stilrichtungen) für Zeitschriften, Bücher, Werbung, Lehrmaterial, u.a.m.Demo-Illustrationen verschiedener Malmaterialien an Fachmessen und Videoproduktionen

1988–1990

Teilzeitstelle als Medizinische Zeichnerin/Illustratorin am Universitätsspital Zürich, Departement Chirurgie.

1982–86

Fachklasse für Wissenschaftliches Zeichnen und Illustration SfG Zürich. Diplomarbeit, Thema: Zoologie Zusätzliche Kurse in den Fachgebieten Lithografie, Fotografie, Airbrush (Spritzpistolentechnik)

1981–82

Hospitantin SfG Zürich

1979–81

Fotoretoucheurin

1978–79

Vorkurs, Schule für Gestaltung Zürich (SfG)

xenotransplantation

Anmerkungen von Walter Hess

Anmerkungen von Walter Hess(†), ehem. Chefred. NATÜRLICH

Sonja Burger gehört zur Elite der Wissenschaftlichen Zeichner der Schweiz, was mir bereits Mitte der 1980er-Jahre aufgefallen war. Damals stand ich vor der Aufgabe, Zeitschriftenartikel über menschliche Körperteile, Krankheitsbilder und auch ökologische Themen veranschaulichend illustrieren zu lassen, wobei bestimmte Feinheiten, Eigenschaften des Verhaltens oder Biotope deutlich herauszuschälen waren. Es ging um das Sichtbarmachen von Unsichtbarem, das nicht mit den Mitteln der Fotografie zu erfassen war, und nicht einfach um Bilder zur grafischen Belebung von Zeitschriftenseiten. Gefragt war eine zusätzliche, exakte visuelle Information.

Die meisten Zeichner und Maler haben sich nach dem Aufkommen der Fotografie vom Zwang befreit, realistisch zu sein beziehungsweise sein zu müssen. Gerade die exakte Abbildung stellt besonders hohe kunsthandwerkliche Ansprüche und wird nur noch wenig gepflegt. Sonja Burger gelingt es, die wissenschaftlichen Darstellungen in eine treffende stimmungsmässige Atmosphäre einzubetten, also eine Verknüpfung der exakten Wiedergabe von Einzelheiten mit einer kunstvollen und einfühlsamen Ausgestaltung herzustellen, die an Gefühle appelliert. Diese Kombination von detailgetreuer Information und Kreativität ist ein Glücksfall, weil der eine Aspekt nicht auf Kosten des anderen geht, sondern sich beide gegenseitig unterstützen.

Neben den fachlichen Qualitäten hat die Zeichnerin auch organisatorische. Sie ist produktiv, prompt und garantiert somit die Erfüllung ihrer Kundenwünsche. Für gestalterische Aufgaben von Publikationen arbeitet sie mit Auftraggebern verschiedenster Branchen zusammen. Die minutengenaue Einhaltung von Terminen ist bei diesen anspruchsvollen und meist komplexen Arbeiten seit Jahren erprobt und selbstverständlich.